Tezos Foundation Council

The Tezos Foundation Council is composed of accomplished professionals who lead the Foundation as it supports the Tezos protocol and ecosystem. Individually, they each bring expertise and insights from their respective fields. Collectively, they form a council full of unique backgrounds and experiences from all over the world.

Ryan Jesperson

President of the Tezos Foundation

Ryan is the President of the Tezos Foundation. Most recently he was the Chief Operating Officer at Divvy, a FinTech company. Ryan received a BS degree, cum laude, from Brigham Young University, and an MBA from the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University. Prior to his work at Divvy, Ryan helped launch the humanitarian Self-Reliance Services initiative of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and was an executive, turnaround specialist, and tech entrepreneur in the healthcare industry.

Michel Mauny

Michel is a senior researcher at Inria, the French National Institute for computer science and applied mathematics. Michel’s scientific interests are mainly in the fields of programming languages: design, implementation, semantics, static analysis, and type systems. After his Ph.D. at Paris-Diderot University, Michel joined Inria in 1985 and worked on programming languages with the research group that designed and developed the Coq proof assistant and the OCaml, the functional programming language used to implement Tezos. From 1989 to 2005 Michel led the research team that further developed OCaml.

Marylène Micheloud

Marylène is the first Swiss woman to receive a Master’s degree in Computer Science (Geneva University, 1977). After years of activities in research and teaching, her last full-time position was as the director of RERO, the Library Network of Western Switzerland (covering four universities and six Swiss cantons). Marylène serves as the Vice-President of a family fuel retailer business, a position she began after her retirement in 2014. Additionally, Marylène is the Co-President of the Valais Academic Association, a role she has held since December 1, 2017.

Olaf Carlson-Wee

Olaf is the Founder and Chief Investment Officer of Polychain Capital, the largest crypto-focused investment manager in the world. He is the former Head of Risk and first employee at Coinbase, the largest digital asset exchange in the U.S., where he built a 40-person operations team, conducted agent training on blockchain analysis for the FBI, HSI, and the Treasury Department, and designed fraud prevention and security mechanisms protecting billions of dollars in transactional value occurring in over 30 countries. Olaf received a BA from Vassar College after completing his thesis on distributed networking and financial cryptography.

Pascal Cléré

Pascal (Ph.D. in Mathematics) is a Senior Vice-President of Alstom Digital Mobility, a new global organization that regroups all businesses within Digital Mobility. In October 2012, Pascal was nominated President of IRT SystemX (Institute of Technological Research), which includes industrial partners and academic institutions such as Inria. His primary research areas are AI, IoT, blockchain, simulation, and autonomous vehicles. Prior to joining Alstom, Pascal worked for Thales (an electronic systems company) from 2007 to 2010 as Vice-President of the Security Solutions and Services division.

Lars Haussmann

Lars is the Head of Corporate Management and Company Administration at Haussmann Treuhand AG. He has extensive experience in corporate management, administration, and accounting matters in demanding and complex situations. Lars is a non-executive director of various Swiss companies with international interests in different industries.

Hubertus Thonhauser

Hubertus is a Managing Partner of Enabling Future, an early-stage venture capital firm based in Dubai. The firm is backed by the two Managing Partners’ private funds and has a portfolio of 20 companies covering the U.S., MENA, and Europe. Enabling Future is the only venture capital firm in the United Arab Emirates to actively invest in the blockchain and cryptocurrency ecosystem. Hubertus is an early investor in Swiss cryptocurrency hedge fund Base58 Capital and was an early backer of the crypto-fintech company Change Bank. Hubertus served as a board member of the Swiss Casino Association for nine years and is familiar with the Swiss legal and regulatory landscape.